My Experience of Being A Movie Extra

     Two weeks has been such a long time to not share any posts with all you lovely people. Therefore, I’d like to share my most recent and exciting experience as being an extra in a movie…
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     Just five months ago, I became aware of an old acquaintance of mine who got a two day job on the set of a local movie. This intrigued me as I hadn’t had an previous knowledge of anyone I’ve known being able to have any role in a movie. That is, without any previous training required or connections. A few days prior, Jennifer had informed me on how to sign up for this endeavor. That evening, I signed up not knowing what was in for me and not expecting to be chosen.
 ≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     On November 17, at 4:15 am, I woke up to start my first day at work. It started with an email then a confirmation to be apart of a fashion show sequence for an upcoming cruise movie. Yus, I was actually in!
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     My dad drove me to the extra parking lot where we waited to sign in along with the many others crowded in the tent. Before switching locations, both genders got a wardrobe check, then makeup done & hair done by professionals. From that point, we were shuttled to the actual filing spot. Surprisingly, I had no idea where I was headed, but ended up in a night club parking lot.
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     Unfortunately, the wardrobe consisted of summer clothes which wasn’t prime for the autumn weather. However, I was able to slip into a pair of summery jeans without any fuss. *Hint: always bring track pants to slip over top & wear layers.*
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     As an extra, usually you’re kept in an area for “background.” There’s food (sometimes good, sometimes not so good) set out around the clock. However, the temperature can vary as week as the fact of being in a building or not. This applies to the groups of people who were chosen by an assistant producer to film a scene. If you were lucky enough, you’d get to take shelter in a headed building. Though this wasn’t the case for everyone.
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     Entertainment was scarce, so making a friend and bringing something to occupy oneself is survival. There’s usually a minimum of eight hours, but it all depends on how long it takes for them to film. My day consisted of a full 12 hours, of which 30 min were spent on scene.
 ≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     Overall though, it was good to have the experience, make a new friend or two and get some extra cash. It also helps to have your name and face known more publicly. Who knows, more jobs could be around the corner and connections could make their way into my life. Plus, it’s kind of cool to say that I was apart of the production of a Hollywood movie.
 ≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
     If you ever get the chance to do something new (obviously nothing bad) then take the opportunity, even if it means getting out of your comfort zone. You never know, maybe you’ll end up enjoying it! If I could be dropped off somewhere with no friends or anyone I knew and doing something that I had never done, then I’m sure you can do anything you put your mind to. Just a little inspiration for the day..
 ≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
‘Till next time,
♥ Brookie
Feel free to leave a comment, ask a question or just talk. I reply to all

